Join us!

Won’t you join us for Santa Claus Fest? Get into the holiday spirit and come celebrate Ol’ Santa Claus. Learn how this particular holiday is celebrated in different parts of the world.

santaclausfestwidget1.jpg

Have you been naughty or nice? There might be a treat involved!!LOL I am giving away a handful of these little tiles so run over and check out the blog. Bring your Christmas spirit.

dsc00023.jpg

Here is a recipe for Russian Tea Cakes which I have adopted as my own tradition. I try and make them each Christmas; they are quite decadent.

This recipe is from AllRecipes.com

10192.jpg

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 6 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/3 cup confectioners’ sugar for decoration

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. In a medium bowl, cream butter and vanilla until smooth. Combine the 6 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar and flour; stir into the butter mixture until just blended. Mix in the chopped walnuts. Roll dough into 1 inch balls, and place them 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.
  3. Bake for 12 minutes in the preheated oven. When cool, roll in remaining confectioners’ sugar.

 

December 6, 2007. Miscellanous.

21 Comments

  1. Belinda replied:

    i favor treats 🙂 never tried russian tea cakes before! your santa tiles looks so peaceful, just perfect!! ho ho ho …

  2. Dymphie replied:

    Love your tile Tina! Thanks for the recipe, sounds delicious 🙂

  3. Ros replied:

    Thanks for the recipe, and all the work put in to today. The blog’s been buzzing – you must be thrilled. Enjoy the rest of the day.

  4. Donna replied:

    Lovely tile and that sounds like a tasty recipe as well 🙂

  5. ArtKat replied:

    Your tiles are precious, love them! Russian Tea Cakes are delicious, I know from experience! 😉

  6. stampingbalou replied:

    Wow, thanks so much for the receipe – what a fantastic cake…!!! Have a nice Santas day !

  7. Iva replied:

    Tina your tile is so sweet. Your recipe sounds good and very familiar. My mom would make something like them, but shaped like a crescent and called them walnut crescents. I loved them as a kid. I forgot all about them, until your post. Thanks for the comment and Happy St. Nicholas Day!
    ~ Iva

  8. Barbara replied:

    The tiles are so wonderful! I love the sweet little face and the cluster of beads. This whole day one the web has been so much fun! Thanks for sharing the yummy recipe! Can’t wait to try it out! Happy St. Nicholas Day!

  9. herminesplace replied:

    Looks great and yummie. Hope you had a wonderful day.

  10. Dymphie replied:

    Tina, you asked about the planner at my St. Nicholas post yesterday. I had it printed at a photo printing service. One can download software to design planners, calenders and photoalbums. It’s printed by a dutch service http://www.hema.nl I guess it’s a feature at most photo printing services.
    HTH Dymphie

  11. ying pang replied:

    Hi Tina,
    I just read your mail about won the Santa Fest, am I dreaming? am just accidentaly deleted the mail and am just wonder if you can give me your email addy ? thank you very much.

  12. Hope Clinchot replied:

    Hi Tina!
    Cool Christmas tiles!! 🙂 and the tea cakes are so rich and yummy, huh? I remember! LOL Good to see you are making them a tradition. We do the German pickle tradition every year…the kids still love searching for it to get their extra present! Traditions are fun! BTW….need your new addy….Santa has been busy!! 🙂

  13. Marcela replied:

    HI Tina
    The tiles are wonderful!!! I love them…
    Have a wonderful weekend!
    Marcela

  14. Sue McG replied:

    Those tea cakes look delicious! The tiles are a delight, how cool.

  15. Silvia replied:

    Looks yummy 🙂 Thanks for your nice comment.

  16. audrey h. replied:

    Tina…your tile is gorgeous! and those tea cakes look too yummy :o)

  17. liannallama replied:

    oh, Tina! I got your tile in the mail and I can’t believe how delicate and beautiful it is in person! I adore it! I have a collection of St. Nicholas statues on my mantle and this goes better than I ever would have hoped! I will truly treasure this art always!

  18. BARONE replied:

    Tina,
    I just received the wonderful tile, so artfully wrapped. The lovely piece immediately found a home near the entryway of my home. My daughters delighted, as I did when I opened the present, when they arrived home from school and first saw it…oooooohhhhhhhh….she is a quiet reminder to find joy in each moment.
    Thank you again.
    jodi barone

  19. audrey h. replied:

    Hi Tina…hope all is well with you and the family and that the holidays were wonderful. Also wanted to say Happy New Year…may it be a very blessed one for you. Hugs.

  20. Kathleen Chabot replied:

    Thank you for the comment on my GPP Crusade 15 pages! I’ve enjoyed scrolling through your blog. I would indeed love to visit London some day. One never knows…

  21. Rein replied:

    Hi Tina,
    Your wonderful mail arreved savely,
    Thanks so much, It’s Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

